Advisory Committee

About the Committee

The Santa Rosa Plain Groundwater Sustainability Agency (GSA) Advisory Committee typically meets at 3 p.m. on the second Monday, every other month, at the Santa Rosa Utilities Field Office, 35 Stony Point Road, Santa Rosa.

For information on past and future meetings, view the Meeting Calendar.

The advisory committee is comprised of community members with diverse perspectives on beneficial groundwater use, including representatives from agriculture, the environmental community, the business community, rural residential well users and public water districts. The committee’s purpose is to provide input and recommendations to the Board of Directors on groundwater sustainability plan development, implementation and policies.

Terms will be two-years (after initial staggered terms), and interested individuals can apply to participate by contacting the GSA administrator. For more information on current Advisory Committee members, click here.


Advisory Committee Open Application  for Business Representative – The deadline for submitting applications is July 31.

The Santa Rosa Plain Groundwater Sustainability Agency (GSA) board is seeking to fill the business representative seat on the Santa Rosa Plain GSA Advisory Committee.

Santa Rosa Plain residents interested in groundwater are urged to apply. The Advisory Committee provides input and feedback on policies, programs and projects to the Board of the Santa Rosa Plain GSA. This agency was formed to meet the requirements of California’s historic Sustainable Groundwater Management Act (SGMA), which went into effect in 2015.

The Santa Rosa Plain GSA Advisory Committee consists of 18 members, seven of which are appointed by the Santa Rosa Plain GSA board. The term for the environmental representative seat is three years.

The Advisory Committee meets every other month for two to three hours. Advisory Committee members should expect to spend several hours reading materials and preparing for meetings. Strong consideration will be given to candidates who have the backing of multiple organizations or individuals within their interest group.

The deadline for submitting applications is July 31. Additional information and the application for the Santa Rosa Plain GSA Advisory Committee can be found here.

Santa Rosa Plain GSA Advisory Committee

Bob Anderson Chair Agricultural interests
Rue Furch Vice-Chair Environmental interests
John Rosenblum Member Independent Water Systems appointee
David Noren Member Rural residential well-owners
 Beth Lamb Member Environmental interests
Peter Martin
Member City of Santa Rosa appointee
Carolyn Dixon Member Sonoma County Water Agency appointee
Open Seat Member Business community interests
Maureen Geary Member Graton Rancheria appointee
Mark Grismer Member County of Sonoma appointee
Wayne Haydon Member Sonoma Resource Conservation District appointee
David Long Member Agricultural interests
Joe Gaffney Member City of Sebastopol appointee
Matt O’Connor Member Gold Ridge Resource Conservation District appointee
Mary Grace Pawson Member City of Rohnert Park appointee
Elizabeth Cargay Member Town of Windsor appointee
Craig Scott Member City of Cotati appointee
Marlene Soiland Member Rural residential well-owners

As reflected above, each Member Agency, as well as the Mutual Water & Public Utilities Commission-Regulated Companies, appointed a representative to the Advisory Committee, for a total of ten members. In addition, seven interest-based members were appointed by the Board to represent environmental, rural residential well-users, agricultural, and the business community.

The following eligible entities have elected not to participate on the Board of Directors but shall hold a seat on the Advisory Committee.  These entities, not the Board, appointed their representatives:

  • Federated Indians of the Graton Rancheria